Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Suenne tutors in Seattle, WA

Suenne D.

Private tutor in Seattle, WA

5Suenne D.

6 reviews

Education

BA International Relations and International Organization at University of Groningen, the Netherlands

Experience

My name is Suenne, I offer private language lessons in German (native) and tutoring for Portuguese and Dutch (up to intermediate level). Knowing 7 Germanic and Romance languages (German, English, Portuguese, Spanish, Dutch, French, Latin), I have a strong understanding of grammar and the skills required to learn languages. I am very enthusiastic about learning and teaching languages and hope to share my passion for languages with you. I have successful prior tutoring experience and adjust my teaching methods according to the students' needs and strengths (speaking, grammar, writing, listening and reading). I think it is important that we find out how you learn best and how to make learning a language fun for you. I have several approaches to share with you. More about my competences in each language: GERMAN: I am a German native speaker. I was raised and attended German high school in Germany. Having studied Latin for 5 years, I have a strong understanding of the grammar of Germanic and Romance Languages. ENGLISH: I studied English for 9 years in school and recently graduated from a BA in International Relations entirely taught in English. Further I have studied abroad and volunteered for international student organizations. PORTUGUESE: I have had a one-year study abroad experience with the Rotary Youth Exchange Program in 2007/2008. I lived with 3 Brazilian families, went to local high school, made Brazilian friends and integrated successfully into society. I self taught myself Portuguese on a conversational level within 2 months and became fluent within a year. I learned to communicate according to Brazilian language norms and culture. SPANISH: I minored in Spanish as part of my BA in International Relations completing B2 level Spanish courses according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). Studying Spanish I could rely on my strong understanding of grammar, that I have acquired studying Latin for 5 years in high school, as well as my knowledge of Portuguese. DUTCH: I learned Dutch living in the Netherlands for 3 years attending the University of Groningen. I completed a B1 level Dutch course according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) and have improved to level B2 in the three years of my stay. I speak and write Dutch at upper intermediate level (B2 CEFR). I have tutored Dutch on a beginner level to intermediate level. I am available for lessons via Skype or IN PERSON in Downtown Seattle/Pioneer Square Area/Bell Town/South Lake Union/Fremont/Ballard/Southwest Green Lake/North East Magnolia. There is a 2 hour minimum per session in the evenings. 1 hour minimum per session in the mornings. I charge $40 per hour. I am excited to share my passion for languages with you. See you soon, bis bald, até logo, hasta luego, tot straks. Suenne

Availability

Weekdays after 5PM, Weekdays in the morning

Can Meet

Up to 1 hour away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I am excited about learning languages and doing outdoor sport activities, especially tennis, biking, hiking and skiing. I am interested in traveling and cultural exchange. That's why I lived, studied and worked in Germany, Brazil, the Netherlands, Turkey and the USA and have been involved with international student organizations.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!