Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Olivia tutors in Seattle, WA

Olivia W.

Private tutor in Seattle, WA

Education

B.A. in English and minor in philosophy from Whitworth University, 2014

Experience

Tutor for university undergrads at Whitworth University for Core 250, a required general philosophy class. Job consisted of explaining philosophical concepts for wide range of majors and ages, organizing material to lead study sessions for exams, and mastering the material and making connections for the students. (2013-2014) K - 5th grade volunteer for Tacoma Rescue Mission, included some after school tutoring. (2009-2010) It's a wonderful feeling when some concept finally clicks after struggling for weeks or months. Being able to share that and give others the means to achieve such ends is an equally fulfilling feeling. Tutoring comes somewhat naturally to me, as from an early age friends came to me for school help as well as other problems. My last few years have been devoted to university, tutoring, and making people coffee. I would like to keep the tutoring, as it includes the best of both worlds. All my classes have been relevant. However, the specific classes I named for philosophy are all ones that I took and at which I excelled. My English classes - writing as well as literature - all work together to inform my ability to tutor for them. Writing is something I know well and would like to encourage others in, too. At Gig Harbor High School, they give an "English Award" to one male and one female student at graduation. I received one. I was also awarded the $200 scholarship from our local newspaper. In September 2013, I submitted a haiku to a scholarship contest and, from thousands of applicants, received one of three $500 prizes.

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 25 minutes away for a flat fee

Hobbies

In my free time, I love to hang out with my niece and nephew who are two and three years of age. For the last five years, I have written songs, sung, and played guitar. I've always loved writing. I enjoy the outdoors and love learning about new things. In the future, I hope to go back to school and study physics and quantum theories. Right now, I'm focused on my poetry and my music.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!