Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Tina tutors in Seattle, WA

Tina N.

Private tutor in Seattle, WA

Tina N.556

56 reviews

Education

University of Washington - BA, Linguistics 7 Japanese , University of Washington - MA, Education

Experience

I am an experienced bilingual teacher and tutor, who has spoken the Japanese language for over 30 years. I attended the University of Washington, and there I first earned my bachelor's degree in Linguistics and a minor in Japanese. I then earned my master's degree in Education, Language Arts Curriculum and Development, while simultaneously working as the program director of an elementary school. However, before I began college, I lived in Japan for three years, and there I both taught English to the locals and held a position at a university working with the linguistics professor. I have been working in Seattle as an ESL teacher for 5 years now. My position as an ESL instructor has helped me lead many students to success in their English-writing skills, so they can lead better lives in the United States. I have also volunteered the time of myself and my therapy dog for the past 7 years to help teach reading skills in libraries and special education classrooms.When I tutor, I tailor all of my lessons to a student's individual learning style and strive to keep my lessons fun and engaging. I think that people of all ages learn best when they are enjoying the learning process. I can tutor Japanese to people of all skill levels, from beginners to people who just want to master their fluency or written Japanese. I can also tutor several other courses to both ESL students and native English-speakers.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

cooking, gardening, and dogs

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!