Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Cody tutors in Seattle, WA

Cody D.

Private tutor in Seattle, WA


I graduated with a BS in Biology and a BS in anthropology with a 3.6 GPA from Iowa State University. I've had the opportunity to work in several scientific laboratories, putting into practice the skills and knowledge I gained during my studies. After graduation, I was a teaching assistant and field site coordinator for a biological research station in Costa Rica, and shortly began a Masters degree in Anthropology with a focus on primatology. I spent the next two years teaching and tutoring anthropology and biology undergraduates, and acted as a teaching assistant for many courses, including cultural anthropology, archaeology, biological athropology, primate behavior, forensic anthropology, osteology and others. I designed and implemented a project to study primate behavior, and took graduate coursework in cognitive psychology and anthropology.


My passion for teaching grows every single time I have the opportunity. The guidance of teachers in my life has afforded me opportunites to attend college, travel the world, grow as a person and reach my full potential. I relish in the opportunity to bring the joy of learning into others lives, and find real meaning and deep satisfaction in bringing my favorite subjects to life in the minds of my students. During my undergraduate career, I had many tutoring opportunities and have also taught large and small group lectures and review sessions as a graduate student of anthropology. One on one teaching sessions provide the chance for students to fully engage in the topic and to gain a thorough understanding of the topics. As a teacher, I believe in being flexible and catering to the learning style of my students. I'm easygoing and gentle, but also am focused and willing to give constructive criticisms so that we can work on mastery of the subject together. I hold myself to the highest standard and will often ask for your feedback and constructive criticism as well. I have years of writing, proofreading, and editing experience. I've often had the opportunity to visit with my students during writing projects and offer constructive criticism and technical advice to improve the quality of their written work. I am an excellent writer, and scored higher than 97% of testees on the GRE analytical writing component.


Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge


I enjoy birdwatching, hiking, gardening, playing guitar and piano. I have spent considerable time traveling the world and learning about world cultures. I spent 18 months teaching english in the Philippines, 10 months over the course of 3 years working at a biological field station in Costa Rica and Nicaragua, and designing experiments to study primate behavior, and recently spent 4 months traveling in Ecuador and Peru. I am a lifelong learner, and spend a great deal of time reading about politics, science, social justice, anthropology, primates, writing and study skills, and anything else that piques my interest. I am located in Queen Anne and have a quiet space available for tutoring in my home. However, I am happy to travel to nearby locations to tutor as well if another location would be more convenient for you. Thank you for taking the time to look at my profile. I look forward to hearing from you and for the opportunity to help you achieve your goals!

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor


Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!