Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Philip tutors in Seattle, WA

Philip K.

Private tutor in Seattle, WA

Philip K.42

2 reviews

Education

Pacific Lutheran University - BA, BA, Spanish (Hispanic Studies), Global Studies

Experience

Hello from Seattle, Washington! I decided to become a tutor because I was looking for a way to use my Spanish language skills. I've been speaking that language for close to a decade. I picked it up during international travel, as well as by taking language courses at both the high school and the college levels. I've worked as a tutor with students representing a number of age groups (pre-kindergarten to college age), starting when I was a student myself. I've continued to work in this capacity after my graduation from Pacific Lutheran University. It has been very rewarding to help learners develop their self-confidence and observe how they absorb the topics that I present to them. At times, they simply need to have it explained to them in a slightly different manner from the style their classroom teacher has used. My own teaching style is a very relaxed one. I'm quite friendly and very patient. As long as my pupil is willing to do the work, I'm prepared to do my part to help them to learn. I find it really helpful to use mnemonic devices that can help the students retain vocabulary or other material easier.  I am available to tutor learners in Reading, Writing, English, Spanish, Mandarin Chinese, ESL/ELL, Gifted, Study Skills and Organization, Religious Studies, Test Prep, Social Sciences, and more. I'm into holistic health and wellness. I also like to get outside, and I like to go surfing and climbing during my spare time. I also enjoy growing things and trees. Travel and languages are another interest of mine. To me, they tie in with my love of learning and desire to try new things, since constant change is something we can count on.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

5 miles at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Learning, languages, traveling, trees, food and growing things, anything to do with outside, surfing and climbing, holistic health and wellness. Trying new things is a must as change is constant.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!