Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Scott tutors in Seattle, WA

Scott H.

Private tutor in Seattle, WA

Scott H.526

26 reviews

Education

University of Wisconsin - Madison - BA, Economics

Experience

I am a graduate of the University of Wisconsin - Madison where I received by BA in Economics. Although I am new to the Pacific Northwest, I feel at home in its beautiful mountains and bodies of water. Currently I'm working towards certification in data visualization, while taking courses for teaching English as a second language. I have worked extensively in youth recreation and special subject tutoring; this includes directing a summer camp, teaching skiing, snowboarding, and kayaking, and working with afterschool programs in homework assistance and curriculum development. I specialize in the subjects of algebra, geometry, history, geography, writing, and reading comprehension. My favorite subjects are geometry and history, as they provide a practical background for so many professional studies. My tutoring style focuses on guiding through encouraging questions, both from myself and the learner. I do not like to take a dogmatic approach by providing a "right" answer; I encourage exploration through understanding the scope of the subject and all possible solutions. Understanding a unique individual's learning style (whether it's auditory, visual, or kinesthetic) can also help in finding enjoyment in the process. When I'm not pursuing work and studies, I enjoy spending time outdoors. Biking, kayaking, skiing, rock climbing, and soccer are some of my core hobbies. Indoors I enjoy playing the piano, cooking, teaching myself computer coding, and reading in the subjects of science fiction, historical fantasy, and contemporary economics. If I'm not doing any of those things, I'm probably trying something new!

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Skiing, kayaking, travel, camping, biking, hiking, playing the piano, collecting and creating maps

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!