Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Benjamin tutors in Seattle, WA

Benjamin H.

Private tutor in Seattle, WA


In my personal education, I try to find the balance between advancing myself closer to a career in medicine and appeasing my own curiosity. I attended Union College in Lincoln, Nebraska for a BS program called International Rescue and Relief, which trained students for international humanitarian responses. After discovering that humanitarian medicine was my real passion, I began taking classes in Biomedical Science with a pre-med emphasis. I graduated with both degrees in 2013 and immediately started a graduate program in Global Health Science at the University of California, San Francisco. After completing my MS research, I was offered a job at UCSF as an assistant instructor for two courses and a research associate for several ongoing studies. I currently work for UCSF from a home office in Seattle.


My first tutoring job was at a learning center when I was still in high school. Since then, I have taught almost all ages and all subjects in homes, classrooms, and other learning centers. I have the most experience teaching high school science and math; however, my favorite subject to teach is writing--from the mechanics of grammar to crafting ideas together for a compelling essay. In the classroom, I have taught graduate level statistics, health economics, and CPR for healthcare professionals. I believe that excelling at learning does not depend on either natural ability or an overwhelming time commitment to studying. Instead, I believe that the most essential skill is the ability to learn independently--to teach yourself new concepts efficiently and exhaustively. As a tutor, I aim to foster these skills, so that the learning doesn't end when the session is over. I am personally driven by curiosity, which has in turn given me a wide range of knowledge and expertise. I was a high-achieving student (3.9 or 4.0 GPA from high school through graduate school), and I now work in a career that requires me to learn aggressively each day.


Weekdays after 4PM

Can Meet

Up to 25 minutes away at my regular hourly rate


When the left side of my brain needs a rest, I enjoy reading and writing poetry and playing my guitar. When both sides need to rest, I usually head to the mountains for climbing, mountain biking, or snowshoeing.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor


Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!